What went wrong in Oxford :) and learning to move forward, embracing the past hiccups. :p

So about what went wrong in Oxford.. πŸ™‚ Btw, my old uni isn’t particularly bad :p as it dares to compete with Cambridge. πŸ™‚ xoxo i was found by Mark before Oxford took a notice of me starting
@insilicogenesis… Oxford taught me many good things and it’s beautiful too.


Dark Blue gave me access to the uni’s supercomputing facilities and i shared all my files on the system – what i could do for them. They taught me the default position: female needing to be more aggressive πŸ™‚ and talk only about money or fundraising, if you wanted to be taken seriously by the important people in the power circuit.

Basically, don’t be me – i am not into any of that. i wanted to do this, as this way gives me freedom to do what i am interested in and you can cross from infectious diseases to Alzheimer’s work & onto a rare ageing disease.

So i was doing what my old uni taught me πŸ™‚ when Mark sat me down.. He paused and asked me : What is it that you want to do? i knew what i wanted but i looked him in the eye… Oxford taught me not to talk like that… πŸ™‚ Also, i want the freedom as i want to answer one question.

How did God do Genesis? i believe that there is a way to explore that, through genomics and an understanding of protein folding – something read in by all living organisms and yet we are missing on it from the way we build 3D structures.

Publishing papers don’t excite me as it should, which is a serious problem :p and i want to get there not by publishing papers endlessly but by bringing out meds that are needed in the real world.. The diseases or their targets are so interconnected – it’s not like the book or how do you solve it if you only have to look at the scope predefined by the departments assigned? So i shut that up πŸ™‚ and people can think of whatever they want to perceive of little me.. So i was trying to be what Oxford typically nurtures and there are good Oxford people..

It’s not Dark Blue. It’s me – something inside me doesn’t fit in. Either they will have to suppress what’s undeniably in me or i deny what i really am, to fit into how Oxford works, which works well clearly.. πŸ™‚ And, in the end, you need to work with people who think & love life sciences, whether they might be your potential investors who do not need to share your day-to-day research at all – i learnt it hard way – it drains you, though they are good people – it’s a bottomless drainage, not efficient nor effective..

Less money with people who really understand what you are trying to solve is far more effective.. i thought wrong: i thought their enthusiasm and open mind would suffice. i could only get to just before finalising the funding at the board levels and easy to get NDAs but stuck at business development meetings.. πŸ™‚

Mark wanted to help just around there.. πŸ™‚ i knew they wouldn’t be happy if Mark was fully brought in… Dr. Mark Treherne has a huge fearful reputation in the territory of Dark Blue. Mark was always busy with many companies & projects. So i made that idiot decision. So my fault.

Leave a comment

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑